remote turn on for aftermarket amp - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Electronics & Audio Stereo Components | Lighting | Radars | Alarms

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-27-2009, 11:07 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
10KAMP311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: southern wisconsin
Posts: 6
 
remote turn on for aftermarket amp

I found the factory amp, but it is always on. Want to run an amp but not sure if I want it on all the time. Checked the rear fuse panel for an igniton switched lead but no luck.
10KAMP311 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-27-2009, 01:11 PM
Member
 
Steve@Subthump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 104
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 10KAMP311 View Post
I found the factory amp, but it is always on. Want to run an amp but not sure if I want it on all the time. Checked the rear fuse panel for an igniton switched lead but no luck.
That's the way my sub amp is. On when the factory amp is on. No big deal though really. The only way to have it on switched power is to run a wire from your amp to the front, put in a switch, and then run it all the way back. Or else pull the radio and find the amp remote wire, splice in, add your switch and then go to the back. More work than I had time for.
Steve@Subthump is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-27-2009, 01:13 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,153
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve@Subthump View Post
That's the way my sub amp is. On when the factory amp is on. No big deal though really. The only way to have it on switched power is to run a wire from your amp to the front, put in a switch, and then run it all the way back. Or else pull the radio and find the amp remote wire, splice in, add your switch and then go to the back. More work than I had time for.

Especially when you can just turn down the bass or volume...
Devryn is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-28-2009, 11:59 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
10KAMP311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: southern wisconsin
Posts: 6
 
sub box

Here are some pics of my box amd amp one jl 12" w3 2 ohm sub and and alpine class d mono amp with a line out converter.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sub box and amp 2010 camaro 006.jpg
Views:	388
Size:	147.5 KB
ID:	3369   Click image for larger version

Name:	sub box and amp 2010 camaro 004.jpg
Views:	420
Size:	139.4 KB
ID:	3370   Click image for larger version

Name:	sub box and amp 2010 camaro 003.jpg
Views:	237
Size:	150.6 KB
ID:	3371   Click image for larger version

Name:	sub box and amp 2010 camaro 005.jpg
Views:	719
Size:	143.5 KB
ID:	3372  
10KAMP311 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-28-2009, 07:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 13
 
With the BA system, if your aftermarket amp has the remote on feature, like most do. You can use the white wire(pin 1) at connector X3 to tell your amp to turn on.
That is what I did, then power came straight from the battery below.
scourage is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply
Gear in this thread - Powered by O'Reilly Auto Parts

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome