1996 Firebird Formula Tranny? - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
4th Generation F-Body 1993-2002 Camaro & Firebird Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 31 Old 05-03-2010, 03:03 PM Thread Starter

1996 Firebird Formula Tranny?

well i just bought a 96 firebird formula.... and am in love. I bought the car from a friend for 550. But there is a little trouble with the tranny. When i go to shift is a little delaid the shifts really had and make a horrible sound. So i think i need to get it rebuilt. Has anyone tried this them selves or would i be better off taking it and getting it done. I have never done a tranny before but have done just about everything else. Also if anyone has a tranny they would like to sell or knows a great place to get one that would be nice. Thanks. oh and here is a pic of the car the 2 days after i drove it home.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 31 Old 05-03-2010, 03:14 PM
Veteran Member

before doing all that, did you check the fluid level? could use some more fluid. if so, use some Lucas Transmission Fix.

i thought the trans was going out in my truck, everytime i went from reverse to drive, it would stall. it was low on fluid from an apparent slow leak, so i added this stuff. no more leak and no more stalling.

if that doesn't work your only out $10 before rebuilding it.

how many miles does the car have? i had a 94 formula but totalled it before any major repairs were needed.

April 2010 Member/Car of the Month

Gone but not Forgotten!
post #3 of 31 Old 05-03-2010, 03:15 PM

With the purchase price of 550 it doesn't sound like a bad deal. I'd take it to a trusted transmission shop and have the problem diagnosed first to see what the repair bill would be.

Let's see some interior pics.

post #4 of 31 Old 05-03-2010, 03:21 PM Thread Starter