Not revving past 4,000 RPMS anymore? - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
5th Generation Camaro News & General Discussion News Articles & General Discussion about the 5th Generation Camaro.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 10-15-2009, 04:23 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 97
 
Not revving past 4,000 RPMS anymore?

Something I've noticed.. First off I have a 2LT, once I hit the 1,500 mile mark I started to see what the LLT engine had in it. I did a nice big burn out no problem. I've tried to do two burnouts since then and they haven't been anywhere near as good. This may have something to do with the weather. The first time it was a cool (in the 60's) night the other two times have been in the 70's-80's during the day. Also I've just tried revving the engine and I can't rev it past 4,000 rpms and I'm 99% sure I was able to red line it if I wanted.. Any ideas what might be up?

It drives fine, so I have no idea..
BaylorAirForce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 10-15-2009, 06:10 PM
Member
 
BuellinBeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Suffield, Alberta Canada.......for a couple of years
Posts: 220
 
Sounds to me like the ECU is limiting the engine speed, you should be able to redline in neutral no probs-Sounds like you need a dealer visit!! I expect the will be able to plug it in and clear any faults within 20mins (unless there is something drastically wrong!)
HTH

If I'm going to hell, I'll go on a Buell
BuellinBeef is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 04:08 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 97
 
Ok so I dropped off the Camaro for the weekend to get some work done, like oil change etc. Anyways I told them about the problem I was having. The dealer called me back and said the maintnance guy told him that GM is putting rev limiters on their cars now, and said there is nothing he could do.. I know for a fact I was able to rev above 4,000 rpms like a week ago, now I can't. This isn't a Chevy dealer but just a GM dealer. Any ideas on what's up?
BaylorAirForce is offline  
 
post #4 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 05:31 PM
Member
 
BuellinBeef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Suffield, Alberta Canada.......for a couple of years
Posts: 220
 
I'm not convinced you've been told the truth!! The only other thing I can think of, is the ECU limits rpm on a cold engine-alot of Jap stuff does this to prevent unsympathetic owners thrashing a cold engine.......But as you own a Camaro, I bet that's not what's happening here-unless the ECU has stuck at that limit for some reason?


the only other possibilty......................someone has taken your engine and dropped a diesel in instead?!!!


All joking aside, I would take it to a Chevy dealer and get them to take a look

If I'm going to hell, I'll go on a Buell
BuellinBeef is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 05:38 PM
Veteran Member
 
Luwinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,420
 
An ex-friend of mine used to drive his parents' old Continental (like a 95) and it had a rev-limiter on neutral.

It wouldn't make sense that the V6 camaro has a rev limiter..hell even my G5 doesn't have a rev limiter in neutral. Then again it's not an auto, either.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
A turbo, exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, with a supercharger, air goes in, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Luwinkle is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 06:13 PM
Veteran Member
 
thedcorvette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,375
 
I drove a cavvy that had a rev limiter at 4k in neutral. think it was an 02

thedcorvette is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 06:14 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 97
 
What I don't get is how it could have a rev limiter on it but I was able to redline it at idol but now I cant... weird..
BaylorAirForce is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 06:23 PM
Veteran Member
 
TX_SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,794
 
One quick way to check while you're on here...

Anyone else here have the V6 and can rev past 4K while in neutral???

2SS/RS, CGM, A6, Magnuson TVS2300 Supercharger
My latest dyno: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XjrLR0N12B4
TX_SS is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 06:53 PM
DEW
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, Mi
Posts: 39
 
Yes, not a problem to rev past 4000 RPM. Try pulling fuses #5 and #20 in the engine compartment. These are the fuses for the ECU, wait 10 minutes then replace #5 then #20. Take it for a ride and see what happens. Remember, allways let the engine come to operating temps before reving to high RPM's.

2LT - CYBER GRAY METALLIC - BLACK RALLY STRIPES - MANUAL TRANNY - POLISHED 19" WHEELS
DEW is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 10-16-2009, 07:20 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 97
 
Alright guys, thanks for the info. When I get it back from the shop on monday I'll take a look at it.
BaylorAirForce is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome