TPMS - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
5th Generation Camaro News & General Discussion News Articles & General Discussion about the 5th Generation Camaro.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 12-16-2009, 04:09 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 24
 
TPMS

Does anybody else see a difference between a tire gauge, vs readout in the car? I checked 2 different gauges, and the monitoring readout is about 5 psi higher than the gauges. I guess it is just there to let you know when you have a tire going down, so you don't trash a wheel and tire?

Thanks,
Mike

2010 2SS/RS LS3 Transformer Edition
mikey8 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 12-16-2009, 04:20 PM
Veteran Member
 
Luwinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,420
 
I don't have that problem with my G5...the monitor and gauge read the same.
Are you sure you're using the gauge right?



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
A turbo, exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, with a supercharger, air goes in, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Luwinkle is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 12-16-2009, 04:36 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 24
 
Oh, you got jokes????? Seriously though, can you send me instructions to make sure I am using it correctly?

Thanks,
Mike

2010 2SS/RS LS3 Transformer Edition
mikey8 is offline  
 
post #4 of 18 Old 12-16-2009, 04:41 PM
Veteran Member
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,544
 
Not that I believe it really matters, but are you using a digital pressure gauge?

www.fquick.com/demonspeed
Present: '02 SS #7146
Past: '89 IROC-Z|'91 Z28|'00 SS #0795|'01 Z28
demonspeed is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 12-16-2009, 08:54 PM
Veteran Member
 
Luwinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,420
 
I know that question isn't directed towards me but I use one of those cheapo analog ones that has the bar that shoots out of it. And if you don't old it just right it can read around 5PSI or so off.



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
A turbo, exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, with a supercharger, air goes in, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Luwinkle is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 12-17-2009, 06:23 AM
Veteran Member
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,544
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luwinkle View Post
I know that question isn't directed towards me but I use one of those cheapo analog ones that has the bar that shoots out of it. And if you don't old it just right it can read around 5PSI or so off.
I use the same that you do.

That's why I asked the OP since I know this old-school style can be finicky if you don't have it on the stem just right.

www.fquick.com/demonspeed
Present: '02 SS #7146
Past: '89 IROC-Z|'91 Z28|'00 SS #0795|'01 Z28
demonspeed is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 12-17-2009, 06:35 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 24
 
I have 2 different guages. I have the pencil type, and one from Longacre Racing Products with a hose and guage. I know they both cant be wrong. Has anyone compared the readout in the car to what a tire guage says? That's my question.

Thanks,
Mike

2010 2SS/RS LS3 Transformer Edition
mikey8 is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 12-17-2009, 07:09 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
I have and will only use/trust a digital gauge. My TPMS reads exactly what the gauge reads. There is always the issue of cold press vs hot press in the tires and I assume you are checking apples to apples...

Have you tried resetting the TPMS when the tires are cold (not driven on for more than a mile) and you have them set to whatever pressures you desire? It takes the system a couple of mins to read and reset so I would suggest not driving off til its done doing its thing....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 12-17-2009, 09:12 AM
Member
 
hddan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Boston
Posts: 338
 
I have two gauges, one is a pencil type that I bought off of the Snap-on truck. It is made by the Syracuse Gauge Company. The other is a digital gauge. The two gauges and the DIC all read within 1 pound of each other.
hddan is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 12-17-2009, 12:43 PM
Veteran Member
 
2010_5thgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canton,Oh
Posts: 6,759
 
mine reads equal. never been off. maybe somethings wrong with them.

Brixton Forged
CM10 Wheels IN STOCK!!! RF7 SOON!!!!
Camaro/M3/M4 wheels in stock High Gloss Titanium
2010_5thgen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome