ipad and camaro dashboard - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
5th Generation Camaro News & General Discussion News Articles & General Discussion about the 5th Generation Camaro.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 03-17-2010, 07:08 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Kobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
 
ipad and camaro dashboard

I'm an unabashed geek, so of course I will get an Ipad. I'm thinking this will be my Nav system and map source, but I need a spot for it. I'm not worried about battery life as it will always go with me when I leave the car and its endurance should be enough. I was thinking about making some kind of mount that would use the glove compartment somehow as the connectivity point, like the attached. Any other thoughts on locations? of course, this is just to tide me over until Chevvy invents my Heads-up display for me!

if wrong forum, sorry, but wasn't sure where else to put
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	interior IPOD mount.jpg
Views:	2648
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	5512  
Kobar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-17-2010, 09:42 PM
Veteran Member
 
JoSSh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 1,109
 
Why not use turn by turn from onStar? lol


Rally Yellow 2SS/RS
Fifty years from now, when you're looking back at your life, don't you want to be able to say you had the guts to get in the car?
JoSSh is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 05:47 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Kobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
 
after using other NAV systems, I like a good map alongside the directions. not a real fan of onstar nav
Kobar is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 06:04 AM
Veteran Member
 
2010_5thgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canton,Oh
Posts: 6,759
 
i would have it inserted into the dash there. if you are good at fab work, or know someone who is, cut the dash and make a housing for it there.it will make it look like its factory.

Brixton Forged
CM10 Wheels IN STOCK!!! RF7 SOON!!!!
Camaro/M3/M4 wheels in stock High Gloss Titanium
2010_5thgen is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 06:04 AM
Veteran Member
 
2010_5thgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canton,Oh
Posts: 6,759
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoSSh View Post
Why not use turn by turn from onStar? lol
turn by turn sucks if you are used to any kind of nav system.

Brixton Forged
CM10 Wheels IN STOCK!!! RF7 SOON!!!!
Camaro/M3/M4 wheels in stock High Gloss Titanium
2010_5thgen is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Afghanland
Posts: 105
 
I would think that mounting it to the glove box would cause some discomfort towards your passengers. As well as making it more difficult to keep your eyes toward the road while reading the device for directions.
Most Navigation devices are mounted in the center of your dash, or placed near your rear view mirror, so you can view the device and still see the road in your peripheral vision.
Chuck is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 09:39 AM
Veteran Member
 
2010_5thgen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Canton,Oh
Posts: 6,759
 
thank you for that brief schooling. thats why they dont do it from the factory, because its a road hazard and they arent allowed to. but there are no restrictions in the world of customization.

Brixton Forged
CM10 Wheels IN STOCK!!! RF7 SOON!!!!
Camaro/M3/M4 wheels in stock High Gloss Titanium
2010_5thgen is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 11:53 AM
Member
 
Tequ1la's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 159
 
I agree, On Star Turn by Turn blows. I like to be able to see upcoming turns in the road. Plus, I had to contact On Star three times once because they were giving me directions to the wrong place.

Had: ABM 2SS/RS M6
Waiting on: ZL1
Tequ1la is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 12:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Kobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 20
 
Actually I think I'll call my old buddy Steve Jobs and tell him has to work with Chevvy to create the iCamaro for me. I'd buy it!

Now that I think of it the relationship would be very cool and would really counter the excellent Microsoft-Ford sync offering in their cars. My wife's escape is sweet with its voice controlled music etc. Anyway enough of that, this is a Camaro forum, Its the Car that counts and this stuff is just the trimmings.
Kobar is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-18-2010, 01:13 PM
Veteran Member
 
demonspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 4,544
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010_5thgen View Post
thank you for that brief schooling. thats why they dont do it from the factory, because its a road hazard and they arent allowed to. but there are no restrictions in the world of customization.
There are many vehicles that have in-dash navigation. GM SUV's and Cadillacs, for instance.

www.fquick.com/demonspeed
Present: '02 SS #7146
Past: '89 IROC-Z|'91 Z28|'00 SS #0795|'01 Z28
demonspeed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome