Modern Camaro Forums banner

Why do so many LS3/L99 engines blow smoke?

7K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  christianchevelle 
#1 ·
Hi all I am new to GM products and now own a 2014 Camaro 1LE myself. My question is after seeing numerous videos of LS3's and L99's on dynos that many seem to blow blue smoke when revving down? ( Not huge amounts, but enough to make me think that something may be wrong). Is this a valve seat issue or something else? As I said this seems to be somewhat common from what I have seen but if i knew my car was doing that I would be looking for mechanical issues.

#2 ·
You're the very first person in the five years this car had been in production that I've seen make this claim.

#4 ·