MASS airflow sensors - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Diagnostics & Tuning Diagnostics | Programming | Tuning

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 04-19-2012, 06:57 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MC3Designs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 51
 
MASS airflow sensors

has anyone installed the Jet power-flo mass air sensor? Im wondering if its worth the 135.00 and does it do what it says??..im not concerned how much HP i will get but i want to make sure my AirAid intake works at optimal performance without restriction

The factory sensor not only is a major restrictive point in stock intake systems, but it also limits the full potential of aftermarket cold air intake systems. The flow bench tested design of the JET Mass Air Sensor provides airflow increases of up to 45% and installs in 10 minutes or less. Compatible with other aftermarket upgrades such as computer upgrades, cold air intakes, TBI spacers, free flow exhaust systems, etc.

heres the link
JET Performance Powr-Flo Mass Air Sensor for 2010-11 Camaro V6

yay or nay?
MC3Designs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 04-19-2012, 07:00 PM
Premium Member
 
patriotpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,222
  
Garage
Will it throw a code?

James 1:25 Ordered from Faulkner Chevy #NKCF02 1100 5/8/9 2000, 3300 7/16/9 TPW 7/20,GOT MY (low) VIN! 4000 7/24/9 ,Picked up 8/7/9!!! Signed Litho #45. Car signed by FBodfather 2011. Service: Jennings Chevy in PA. We don't "drift", kiddies... we POWER SLIDE! MOTM/COTM Sept 2012 Pro Patria Vigilans.
Click the pic.. I don't tolerate fools.
patriotpa is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 04-19-2012, 08:17 PM
Junior Member
 
Avenging Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Clermont, IN
Posts: 31
 
I have found that aftermarket maf's cause more problems than they are worth. At least they were for the LS1 and LS2 . Dont know much about the V6 maf but I cant see it being any more restrictive than the V8. And these are miniscule compared to the LS1/2 mafs. I think you'll be fine with you stock peice.

2010 Inferno Orange 2SS/RS M6, Black leather, Sun roof, OBX Headers, Halltech cai, Mike Norris tuned.

Avenging Orange, 34 years of not buying into the hype!
Avenging Orange is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 04-20-2012, 12:09 AM
ModernCamaro.com Sponsor
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: CT
Posts: 189
 
don't do it man!!!

there is no need to go to an aftermarket MAF sensor... they fool the ecm into thinking the engine is running leaner than it really is.. and it throws off your fueling, which is bad, especially when you go to get a tune...

the stock MAF sensor is good for 550/600+ hp anyway, so there's no need to change it...

keep the stock original GM MAF sensor!!
06MonteSS is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 04-20-2012, 06:52 AM
Premium Member
 
patriotpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 6,222
  
Garage
I installed a Granatelli MAF on my pickup. All it does is throw an intermittent code. Waste of money.

James 1:25 Ordered from Faulkner Chevy #NKCF02 1100 5/8/9 2000, 3300 7/16/9 TPW 7/20,GOT MY (low) VIN! 4000 7/24/9 ,Picked up 8/7/9!!! Signed Litho #45. Car signed by FBodfather 2011. Service: Jennings Chevy in PA. We don't "drift", kiddies... we POWER SLIDE! MOTM/COTM Sept 2012 Pro Patria Vigilans.
Click the pic.. I don't tolerate fools.
patriotpa is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 04-22-2012, 10:48 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
MC3Designs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 51
 
answered my questions..THANKS Y'ALL guess i wont be doing that....
instead...VMAX, here i come
MC3Designs is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 04-23-2012, 07:16 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
You might want to verify that you at least have a "strong" sensor in the car. There were some troublesome units out there for awhile. It is evidenced by having a letter and number (or two) on it. Pop it out and look at it. You should see something like K19 to indicate a strong sensor. Just a single letter and I would replace it thru one of the vendors here that sell verified strong GM replacements....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome