Learning to Tune - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Diagnostics & Tuning Diagnostics | Programming | Tuning

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-16-2014, 12:47 AM Thread Starter
Premium Member

Learning to Tune

Since it's so hard to find tuning threads where people are explaining things, I'm going to start one with what I learn. I will include what I do right, and wrong so people can learn from my successes and failures.

The picture above is the first scan after I tuned the transmission. I removed the torque management and firmed up the shifts. I haven't done any major tuning as I'm still learning the process.

In the picture I have the line set at the highest level of knock retard (5.1). Small amounts of knock retard isn't horrible, but it isn't good. Also, if you look at the first box, you will Dyn Air in white, and the RPM's in yellow.

If you look at the histogram on the right, you see the actual "zones" that I was in while accelerating and it shows exactly where the knock retard was occurring during the log.

One neat thing I learned was this: in the histogram chart, you can see all the boxes with a 5 in them, well one is yellow. If you look at the chart display, and you see the white vertical line that goes through all four boxes, well that line is indicated by the yellow box in the histogram. That was my highest level of knock retard.

The goal is to remove the knock retard, so later tomorrow I will use the editor and change the spark advance to try to remove the retard. I will post pictures of it as I go along so someone can learn, or let me know if I'm doing something stupid.

Feel free to interject and let me know if I'm making a mistake somewhere along the way. I will use this thread to update what I do with the tunes as I go along.

**I do have a wideband that I will install when I install my headers**
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Knock Retard and Histogram.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	61.5 KB
ID:	37561