How do you drag race an automatic? - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Drag Racing Getting your 5th Gen on the dragstrip - post results here!
STREET RACING CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 Old 04-09-2010, 09:25 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fairfax, VA
Posts: 75
 
How do you drag race an automatic?

There is a dragstrip nearby and I was thinking about taking my stock SS down there to see what it could do. Question is, how the hell do you drag race an automatic? Use the paddles or let it shift in "S" mode itself? Also, I read somewhere on the forum that someone lets it rev to 2k rpm with the foot on the brake, then let's her rip.
Mikeinva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 Old 04-09-2010, 10:59 PM
ModernCamaro.com Founder / Former Camaro Disciple
 
OctaneZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 11,842
           
I've found the best results with leaving the shifter in "S" (Sport mode) and letting it shift itself.

I'll usually hold the brake and rev it to about 1500 or so.

2001 Camaro Z28 H/C/I LH6 A4 3.42

Like ModernCamaro.com on Facebook!
OctaneZ28 is offline  
post #3 of 35 Old 04-10-2010, 09:58 AM
Supporting Super Moderator
 
brandonppr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middle TN
Posts: 5,668
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by OctaneSS/RS View Post
I've found the best results with leaving the shifter in "S" (Sport mode) and letting it shift itself.

I'll usually hold the brake and rev it to about 1500 or so.
agreed.

Also if your looking for the best ET you need to shallow stage. This is barely light the second stage bulb. The futher you roll in after the second light lights the slower your ET will be.

1998 Camaro A4 7.06 @ 96.5 MPH NA 1.47 best 60ft
2010 Camaro Tube Chassis work in progress
brandonppr is offline  
 
post #4 of 35 Old 04-10-2010, 09:33 PM
Veteran Member
 
RedJewel2SS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 4,449
 
agreed! that's how i got my best run

April 2010 Member/Car of the Month

Gone but not Forgotten!
RedJewel2SS is offline  
post #5 of 35 Old 10-15-2010, 07:44 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 179
 
Will it shift?

In S mode (paddle shift) It will shift on its own??? Mine goes on to rev limiter and waits for me..
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxCTF#39 is offline  
post #6 of 35 Old 10-15-2010, 07:51 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 179
 
Found it

Quote:
Originally Posted by RiCEADDiCTBOY View Post
So you put it in manual mode but don't use tapshift?
well, when you shift to the M, your DIC will have an "S" at the bottom left of the screen which stands for "Sport Mode", it shifts automatically, but the shifts are firmer and quicker. once you touch the tapshift, the S changes to whatever gear you shifted to and does not shift automatically, hence "manual mode"
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxCTF#39 is offline  
post #7 of 35 Old 10-17-2010, 08:40 PM
Member
 
2SSARME's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: PANAMAAAAA
Posts: 132
 
Let your back tire PSI down to around 18. Take everything off (hold down the traction button for 7-8 seconds), avoid water pit, do a burn out, stage at the light. On takeoff don't just put pedal all the way down, the autos have more torque than the manuals at low end thus spin much more. Ease into it (takes lots of practice). Let the car shift for itself in S and you should be looking at low-mid 13s.

2SSARME is offline  
post #8 of 35 Old 10-17-2010, 10:11 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,818
  
For a mostly stock car on stock torque converter ?


Put it into "M" mode by the shifter which happens to be Sport mode aka "S" on the DIC
Turn both Traction control and stability off if you have a stock torque converter then hold the brake bring up the RPMS to about 1500 and let her Rip.
Jekyll-N-Hyde is offline  
post #9 of 35 Old 10-18-2010, 07:26 AM
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 179
 
??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jekyll-N-Hyde View Post
For a mostly stock car on stock torque converter ?


Put it into "M" mode by the shifter which happens to be Sport mode aka "S" on the DIC
Turn both Traction control and stability off if you have a stock torque converter then hold the brake bring up the RPMS to about 1500 and let her Rip.

How long do you hold the gas pedal down?
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxCTF#39 is offline  
post #10 of 35 Old 10-22-2010, 12:32 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,818
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by CTF#39 View Post
How long do you hold the gas pedal down?
HA HA yeah well if the person in the car doesnt know when to let up off the throttle they need to step away from the car imo
Jekyll-N-Hyde is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome