Add an Amp+Sub - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Electronics & Audio Stereo Components | Lighting | Radars | Alarms

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 09-25-2012, 10:23 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Add an Amp+Sub

I have the factory radio in my 2012 SS, just wanted to know how hard it would be to install a sub and amp to the existing system i have?
MidnightSSS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 09-25-2012, 01:27 PM
Newbie
 
big papa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: AZ
Posts: 3
 
SubThump -


Get a FARK...

2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
2012 Ram Express
2012 Kawasaki Concours
big papa is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 09-25-2012, 05:36 PM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by big papa View Post
+1

If you are just wanting to "add" a sub and amp in the trunk to the existing amp/system, look at these:

2010 Camaro Passenger Side Amp Rack by Subthump

2010 Camaro/ZL1 Drivers Side Stealth Enclosure by Subthump


This makes it plug and play (if you have the BA system that is):
Subthump 5th Gen Add an Amp T-Harness for 2010 Camaro

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
 
post #4 of 16 Old 09-25-2012, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by big papa View Post
SubThump -


Get a FARK...
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypurone View Post
+1

If you are just wanting to "add" a sub and amp in the trunk to the existing amp/system, look at these:

2010 Camaro Passenger Side Amp Rack by Subthump

2010 Camaro/ZL1 Drivers Side Stealth Enclosure by Subthump


This makes it plug and play (if you have the BA system that is):
Subthump 5th Gen Add an Amp T-Harness for 2010 Camaro
Thanks guys yea i dont have the boston acoustics stereo system in mine just the standard one
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 09-25-2012, 05:55 PM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSSS View Post
Thanks guys yea i dont have the boston acoustics stereo system in mine just the standard one
This will help then:

5th Gen Camar Non Boston RCA Output Harness

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 09-26-2012, 02:50 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypurone View Post
now where would i connect that to? any splicing invovled?
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 09-26-2012, 04:55 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 8
 
Sub thump. It's plug and play, no splicing. I've had mine for a year and works great.
Badman24 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 09-26-2012, 05:39 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Badman24 View Post
Sub thump. It's plug and play, no splicing. I've had mine for a year and works great.
thats a good thing, i just dont know where to start, im bad at this stuff lol
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 09-26-2012, 07:48 PM
Member
 
Mr. iNCREDIBLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Socal
Posts: 106
 
another +1 on sub thump, plug and play.


email them they can talk you thru it, great guys over there.
Mr. iNCREDIBLE is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 09-27-2012, 08:19 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSSS View Post
now where would i connect that to? any splicing invovled?
For non-BA systems it connects directly to the head unit. No splicing on any of his harnesses.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. iNCREDIBLE View Post
another +1 on sub thump, plug and play.
email them they can talk you thru it, great guys over there.
+1
Call Steve over at Subthump and tell him what you want, he will get you set up with what you need and help with walking you thru the install....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome