why no climate control on Camaro - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Electronics & Audio Stereo Components | Lighting | Radars | Alarms

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-24-2013, 09:33 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
JCunningham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 222
 
why no climate control on Camaro

everything els has climate control why not the camaro. can it be added?
JCunningham is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-25-2013, 08:12 PM
Junior Member
 
BDBiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Oliver Springs, TN
Posts: 80
 
I have had the climate control on all of my recent vehicles and I admit that I really wish it was on my new Camaro. Climate control makes life so much easier when you take a long road trip.

BDBiker is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 06-27-2013, 05:08 AM
Veteran Member
 
Guapo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Crestview Fl
Posts: 2,495
 
Garage
I too miss it. My Traverse had it...

2013 LT2/RS, Crystal Red Metallic, TAZ Jr.
2016 H-D Ultra Classic, Black Fire Purple, (PPE)
2015 H-D Street Glide, Superior Blue. (Old Blue) Traded
2012 Big Horn, RAM, Crew Cab, SLT, Dark Cherry Red Pearl (Betty Boop)
1998 Honda Accord 2d, daily driver.
Guapo is offline  
 
post #4 of 15 Old 06-30-2013, 08:31 PM
Member
 
CyberPunk223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 275
 
why not? because it adds cost & weight to the car. besides who needs it, really how hard is it to turn a dial.
CyberPunk223 is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 06-30-2013, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
JCunningham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 222
 
what weight actually a few buttons would weigh less. I assume you have never had Climate control. on a $40,000 car theres no excuse. With climate control you set it to the temp your comfortable with and forget it. I have to continuously mess with the dials just to be either too hot or too cold

2012 2SS/RSM6 Silver with Painted CarbonFlash rally stripes,3.91gears, NewEra ported TB,OTR, HeritageGrill, NightFury cam, Melling296 Oilpump, KatechCR-5 chain, Cloyes LS2HD tensioner, PAC 1205x springs and Comp Cams trunion upgrade. American Racing1 7/8"LT headers w/cats, and TWM fullShifter BMRsways,trailing arms,toe rods, delrin cradle bushings,BK039rear control arm bushingkit,front suspension bushing kit. Solo Mach XL exhaust 25% Fluidampr
JCunningham is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-01-2013, 06:31 PM
Member
 
CyberPunk223's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 275
 
I think it's more trouble to try to guess & set & find a comfortable temp than to just turn the fan or temp up or down.. I actually prefer not to have that digital dribble. it's just another digital display to distract you from the road.
CyberPunk223 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-02-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
BBQdDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 331
 
I forget which double din mount kit has it but I saw one with climate control. I believe it was not released yet but soon.

<edit>Found it http://www.scosche.com/2010-up-chevr...stallation-kit </edit>

Last edited by BBQdDude; 07-02-2013 at 01:37 PM.
BBQdDude is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-02-2013, 03:00 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
JCunningham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 222
 
I saw that one with temp control but when looking at the videos it only shows fan speed.

2012 2SS/RSM6 Silver with Painted CarbonFlash rally stripes,3.91gears, NewEra ported TB,OTR, HeritageGrill, NightFury cam, Melling296 Oilpump, KatechCR-5 chain, Cloyes LS2HD tensioner, PAC 1205x springs and Comp Cams trunion upgrade. American Racing1 7/8"LT headers w/cats, and TWM fullShifter BMRsways,trailing arms,toe rods, delrin cradle bushings,BK039rear control arm bushingkit,front suspension bushing kit. Solo Mach XL exhaust 25% Fluidampr
JCunningham is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-12-2013, 07:15 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Eldersburg, MD
Posts: 10
 
The scosche kit looks more modern than the knobs on the stock but still not automatic climate control, I too wish my Camaro had auto climate control, my last 3 cars had it. No extra weight to be concerned with, just a temp sensor and some standard electronics.
Jravenfan is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-12-2013, 08:20 PM
Senior Member
 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 588
 
Maybe the dials go better with the retro theme of the 5th gen?

Doesn't bother me, I adjust where I need it, or just ride with the windows down.
skuttduck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome