Programming Keyless FOB HELP - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Electronics & Audio Stereo Components | Lighting | Radars | Alarms

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 12-31-2014, 05:05 AM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Angleton, TX
Posts: 7
 
Programming Keyless FOB HELP

I have a 2010 Camaro SS and I had to replace my FOB, which was the only one that I had. My keys are separated from it due to the factory recall. is there anyway I can program this keyless FOB myself? Or does that HAVE to be done at the dealership?
Luke77515 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 12-31-2014, 07:41 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Depends. Does the old fob still allow the car to be started? If so, you can start the car with the old one, wait 30 sec, turn the car off, immediately place the new fob near the ignition switch and start the car again and wait 30 sec before shutting it off. Some material says you can just turn to the "on" position instead of starting but I had a friend that actually had to start the car for it work....

If the old fob is not recognized by the car at all, you are screwed and need to have it programmed by the dealer or if you can find a locksmith that has the component to do it....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 12-31-2014, 12:17 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Angleton, TX
Posts: 7
 
Click image for larger version

Name:	topview.jpg
Views:	345
Size:	34.6 KB
ID:	43225

Click image for larger version

Name:	sideview.jpg
Views:	255
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	43233

Here, maybe this will better clarify. So you can visually see that the FOB is not attached to the key, which made me title this thread Programming Keyless FOB HELP
Luke77515 is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 12-31-2014, 12:21 PM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke77515 View Post
Attachment 43225

Attachment 43233

Here, maybe this will better clarify. So you can visually see that the FOB is not attached to the key, which made me title this thread Programming Keyless FOB HELP
No clarification needed. Even with a separate key and fob, the car still "looks" for the fob when you go to start it for security reasons. And as long as the old fob allows the car to be started then you can program the new one yourself in the manner I described....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 12-31-2014, 12:27 PM Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Angleton, TX
Posts: 7
 
So is the car starting contingent upon a FOB being present, rather than the key itself functioning with the internals of the black case? I have no current working FOB, thus the problem arising that I need to program this one. I'm looking for something like the old school on off remove radio switch key button on FOB sequence type of thing. If no such thing exists then I will have to take it to the dealer or a locksmith.
Luke77515 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 12-31-2014, 02:39 PM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke77515 View Post
So is the car starting contingent upon a FOB being present, rather than the key itself functioning with the internals of the black case? I have no current working FOB, thus the problem arising that I need to program this one. I'm looking for something like the old school on off remove radio switch key button on FOB sequence type of thing. If no such thing exists then I will have to take it to the dealer or a locksmith.
Well, I have never been in the position you are or thought to try starting the car without the fob in the car. Try it, that will answer some questions.... If the car starts without the original fob in the car then it sounds like the new key houses what is needed for the security check and that is what your car is now programmed to accept. Which would then prohibit you from programming a new fob yourself....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner

Last edited by hypurone; 12-31-2014 at 02:54 PM.
hypurone is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-01-2015, 04:14 AM
Veteran Member
 
83Hokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 4,590
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke77515 View Post
So is the car starting contingent upon a FOB being present, rather than the key itself functioning with the internals of the black case? I have no current working FOB, thus the problem arising that I need to program this one. I'm looking for something like the old school on off remove radio switch key button on FOB sequence type of thing. If no such thing exists then I will have to take it to the dealer or a locksmith.
doesn't the remote start still work with the FOB? with only the FOB in the car? seems that would do it

2012 2SS / RS CRT; Additional Options: Highwing Spoiler, Sunroof, Window Tint, Splash Guards, Wheels, Nitro, Heritage Grill, MRT Louvers, Ported Throttle Body, Cold Air Inductions CAI, RX Sport Hood, someone's splitter, River City Strut Bar
Born On: 13 April 2012; Purchased: 27 August 2012
83Hokie is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 03-09-2015, 08:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
 
Just purchased a 2014 Chevy Camaro RS with 6000 miles fully loaded, every option available from a dealership in Philadelphia Pennsylvania, I live in Long Island, New York. Anyway the car came with one remote (with remote start) and two switchblade keys, separate from the remote, so 2 keys, 1 remote.
Dealer sent me a new key that has been cut key and switchblade remote all in one. I need to program the key and the remote, so the all keys on the remote work, remote start works as well as the key!
Saw this procedure in the owner manual, want to know if it this will work?
Insert your original key, already programed key in the ignition and turn to the ON/RUN position.
Turn the key to LOCK/OFF then remove the key.
Insert the new key to be programmed in ignition and turn it to the ON/RUN position within 5 seconds.
The security light will turn off once the key has been programmed.
Now is that just for the key or the key and all the remote function?
hockeydad20 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-28-2019, 03:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
 
I bought a new key fob from Amazon and I already cut my key fob so I tried to programme it in my 2012 camaro but it didn't work cuz my security icon on my dashboard kept flashing on and off and I couldn't programe (I kept the car in on position for 20 min and it didn't stop flashing ) it cuz of that anyone can help me with it ? thank you
redcamaro2012 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome