noob tech question - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
General Technical Discussion General 5th Gen Tech
Anything that doesn't fit in one of the above categories goes here.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-02-2010, 09:51 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CamaroFTW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 720
 
noob tech question

this is probably a super noob question, but do adding longtube headers require a tune?, the only reason i ask is, i had a major issue with a tune gone wrong in my 2002 camaro and the programmer locked up and fried my ECU

2011 Chevy Camaro 2LT/RS Convertible Auto, CGM
2010 Chevy Camaro 1LT 3.6L Manual [Production #115] Black with cyber grey stripes (http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3370622) Traded 12/10/11
August 2011 MotM
-"Team LLT" representative
South Jersey Camaro Club member
CamaroFTW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-02-2010, 10:46 PM
Veteran Member
 
mucker15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Levittown LI
Posts: 1,782
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroFTW View Post
this is probably a super noob question, but do adding longtube headers require a tune?, the only reason i ask is, i had a major issue with a tune gone wrong in my 2002 camaro and the programmer locked up and fried my ECU
with the automatic cars I believe you need a tune but my car is automatic L99 with AFM the header heat causes the car to throw a code and check engine light would come on there fore a tune is needed to correct this,im not sure about the 6 cylinder cars if its the same thing

mucker15 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-03-2010, 09:17 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
There have been numerous posts indicating they will throw codes for the O2 sensors as they are usually moved farther downstream than stock and are reliant upon "wiring extensions" to reconnect them. YMMV.

As for a tune? Well, you will always get the "most" out of an engine mod with a tune but it is not mandatory... Our cars run rather rich from the factory. When you open the intake is when you start to "need" a tune...

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
 
post #4 of 9 Old 01-03-2010, 10:22 AM
Veteran Member
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 7,873
  
I have heard of 1 person NOT needing a tune when he added LT headers...he didn't get any CEL's (on an LS3, w/ stainless works headers/cats).

BUT...since you have a V6...things could be different...not sure. I'd talk to the header manufacturer to see what their experience is on them. There's not too many tuners doing the V6 Camaro yet, so maybe they wont throw codes?

If you want to take a ride up to NY, I can put you in touch with a tuner who knows what he's doing. Once EFI live and/or HPtuners can access the V6 computer, he'll be tuning them. He's already tuning transmissions in the LT's.

2010-2SS/RS/LS3/IBM/RP6: ECS-Paxton Supercharger / American Racing Headers & Exhaust / PFADT Suspension / DSS 9" 4.10 Rear / FOR SALE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taglane View Post
Powerfreak is the only one who actually understood anything.

Last edited by POWERFREAK; 01-03-2010 at 10:27 AM.
POWERFREAK is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-07-2010, 02:46 AM
Veteran Member
 
WRAITHSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The BX..NY
Posts: 1,420
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by mucker15 View Post
with the automatic cars I believe you need a tune but my car is automatic L99 with AFM the header heat causes the car to throw a code and check engine light would come on there fore a tune is needed to correct this,im not sure about the 6 cylinder cars if its the same thing
Anyway you can put a rap on them to cut the heat down?

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind!

Quote:
Originally Posted by el ess X View Post
Look at it this way, if you have "Camaro" written on your car somewhere, you're already starting with a great platform!!
WRAITHSS is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-07-2010, 12:00 PM
Veteran Member
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 7,873
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRAITHSS View Post
Anyway you can put a rap on them to cut the heat down?
It's more an issue with the 02 sensors being moved...not an issue of under the hood heat. Which is why shorty headers don't need a tune...the cats/O2's are untouched.

2010-2SS/RS/LS3/IBM/RP6: ECS-Paxton Supercharger / American Racing Headers & Exhaust / PFADT Suspension / DSS 9" 4.10 Rear / FOR SALE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taglane View Post
Powerfreak is the only one who actually understood anything.
POWERFREAK is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-08-2010, 08:25 PM
Veteran Member
 
WRAITHSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The BX..NY
Posts: 1,420
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by POWERFREAK View Post
It's more an issue with the 02 sensors being moved...not an issue of under the hood heat. Which is why shorty headers don't need a tune...the cats/O2's are untouched.
Cant just change to a different temp o2 sensor?

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind!

Quote:
Originally Posted by el ess X View Post
Look at it this way, if you have "Camaro" written on your car somewhere, you're already starting with a great platform!!
WRAITHSS is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-08-2010, 08:50 PM
Veteran Member
 
Luwinkle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 10,420
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by WRAITHSS View Post
Cant just change to a different temp o2 sensor?
Different brand maybe..but not the type of sensor........



Never pay again for live sex! | Hot girls doing naughty stuff for free! | Chat for free!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Clarkson
A turbo, exhaust gasses go into the turbocharger and spin it, with a supercharger, air goes in, witchcraft happens and you go faster.
Best Car Insurance | Auto Protection Today | FREE Trade-In Quote
Luwinkle is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-08-2010, 09:17 PM
Veteran Member
 
WRAITHSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The BX..NY
Posts: 1,420
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luwinkle View Post
Different brand maybe..but not the type of sensor........
Really. I thought I saw they also came in temp rating as well.. To compensate 4 there location.

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind!

Quote:
Originally Posted by el ess X View Post
Look at it this way, if you have "Camaro" written on your car somewhere, you're already starting with a great platform!!
WRAITHSS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome