Starter Motorcycle? - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
The MC Lounge General Discussions. Disrespectful behavior will not be tolerated.
POLITICAL AND/OR RELIGIOUS CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 39 Old 04-30-2009, 09:38 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member

Starter Motorcycle?

Hey everyone,

With warm weather and bright sunny days, bikes are waking from hibernation and hitting the streets.

From previous threads, I am about to graduate and I am thinking about buying something nice. I thought about a 5 speed camaro/firebird/mustang or a little nissan to play with.

I think I am a pretty good driver. Never been pulled over or ticketed, nor have I wrecked. I am wondering if I'm good enough to ride a motorcycle.

Last year around this time, I went to a lot of bike shops ans sat on a whole bunch of rides. These were new of course, but I really loved the sport bike (I was into cruisers for a long time).

I am thinking about learning to ride this summer so I can commute to college and work, and then mod my camaro for strip or something.

I realize riding a motorcycle is a skill, I am thinking about starting small with 1 of these couple bikes.

2008 Honda Rebel 250cc - $3,100 - New
^^ It is a neat little cruiser look and it's cheap. My dad is real short and he wants to learn too, so I thought it would be cool for my Dad and me to both try riding.

Kawasaki Ninja 250r - $4000 - New
^^ I've read a lot of stuff about this bike. I heard it's a great starter bike, especially if you want to ride sport bikes. It's also light (I guess...400lbs?) so it would be good to learn on.

I don't know if I'm going to buy one of these bikes new, but they seem good to learn on. People are telling me to jump into a 600, but riding is a skill and I'm a little scared still but I want to do it. Some are saying old 600s aren't too fast but I rather start small.

ADVICE?
post #2 of 39 Old 04-30-2009, 10:34 AM