Video card upgrade for gaming question - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
The MC Lounge General Discussions. Disrespectful behavior will not be tolerated.
POLITICAL AND/OR RELIGIOUS CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 Old 12-16-2009, 10:49 PM Thread Starter
Supporting Super Moderator

Video card upgrade for gaming question

I have a dell e510 with ati x300.
I just bought microsoft flight sim 2004 and I am still waiting for it to get here. Only problem is I think my video card is not going to work. I tried using it for the fsx version and it said my vidoe card was the problem.

What is needed to upgrade and what card can I use?

I have never done this type of upgrade before so I have know idea what I need. Also I would love to be able to display 2-4 screens, but I don't want to spend a fortune if thats what it takes to display more than one.

1998 Camaro A4 7.06 @ 96.5 MPH NA 1.47 best 60ft
2010 Camaro Tube Chassis work in progress
post #2 of 25 Old 12-16-2009, 11:50 PM

If I found the right Dell e510 that is a fairly old P4 based system but it does have PCI-e x16. Looks like pretty much any PCI-e single slot card will work but no need to go overboard with the limits of the CPU. Something like the ATI Radeon HD 4830 is likely a good choice. Looks like newegg has them for under $100.

I'm pretty sure most every recent video card supports at least 2 monitors.
post #3 of 25 Old 12-17-2009, 06:55 AM
Veteran Member

Garage
As stated above you are going to be limited by the P4 cpu as far as what it can handle in throughput from/to the GPU. So no need to go overboard unless you are planning a system upgrade in the near future.

Since ATI was discussed already and is not my fav. I would go with an Nvidia card personally. For the P4 the max card you could use without limiting the new cards ability cuz of your P4, is the GTX260.

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo