Ok, short story is that I am going to pretty much trade outright my Exploder for a 1979 Z/28 350/350
There are times when I REALLY hate Michigan laws of title transfer. According to the SOS Site (quoted below)
- Must have no fault insurance for the STATE OF MICHIGAN.
- No out of state policies accepted
However, there may be a way around it in that same page, and if I read it right it concerns transit of said vehicle (which is exactly what I'd be doing)
So what say you my Camaro compadres? Are you getting the same thing out of the below quote?
There is no way in hell I'm opening a policy for a few hours just to get it across the line and retitled.
My other option is waiting 3 weeks when my dad gets free time to travel with me to trailer the car home with his truck and a rented dolley/trailer.
The Drive is 80 miles, about 75 minutes.
Chances of running into Michigan SHP: Slim. They rarely patrol (read once every 6mos) the stretch I use on 23, but again assumptions can lead to costly mistakes..
Once you have found the vehicle you want to buy, you will need to properly title, register and plate it. It is best if you and the seller can go to a Secretary of State office to complete the title transfer. If not, then before leaving with the vehicle make sure:
* The seller gives you the title. Making changes on a title, such as crossing out a name, invalidates it. Copies are also not acceptable. The seller must complete the seller's portion of the title, including the odometer disclosure statement, and sign it.
* There is no outstanding loan against the vehicle. A title cannot be transferred until the vehicle loan is fully paid. A representative from the bank or financial institution that administered the loan must either have signed the title or provided the owner with a lien termination statement.
* The odometer reading entered by the seller and vehicle identification number (VIN) on the title match the vehicle's odometer reading and VIN.
You do not need a license plate to drive a newly purchased vehicle directly home. Never use a plate from another vehicle as a substitute.
If you do not complete the title transfer with the seller at a Secretary of State office, you have 15 days from the date of sale to transfer the title into your name. A use tax and title transfer fee will be due. For the registration, you will need:
* Your identification
* The vehicle title
* Proof of Michigan no-fault insurance. You must have Michigan no-fault insurance to register a vehicle in Michigan. Out-of-state policies will not be accepted.