Monte Carlo Mods, Start Now. - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
The MC Lounge General Discussions. Disrespectful behavior will not be tolerated.
POLITICAL AND/OR RELIGIOUS CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-08-2011, 02:48 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member

Monte Carlo Mods, Start Now.

Alright guys, things are back to normal and I can start modding the Monte Carlo.

I don't see the point in signing up for a specific car forum since I'm only doing minor bolt-ons and I'm sure you guys are quite aware of this car mechanically, Chevy 350 4bbl.

Now I've been out of the car game for about 2-3 years and I'm pretty lost, any knowledge i did have was about the 305 since that's what I had at the time, I'm new to both the 350 and carbs.

Mechanically the car is sound and my friend/mechanic gave me the greenlight to start buying parts. I've never actually had a car completely stock car before, so I'm not sure where to start. I do not have to pay for labor since him and me are doing it together...the car work that is....ewww.

I figured an exhaust is what most people go with first? I'm not sure what headers, size midpipes and mufflers to go with? I was always told 3" mids are fine for 350s but too big for 305s, so is 3" adequate? I do not have cats on the car ('74) and the car has "true" duals.

I want a loud car plain and simple, I want some serious bark for something that will lack some bite fore awhile...

Sadly (and pathetically) my computer is so fried I have a hardtime playing youtube vids so I haven't done much sound comparisons.

Any input is appreciated...because without...my car stays lame...
post #2 of 7 Old 06-08-2011, 12:19 PM

The 305 and the 350 are the same motor, just different cylinder bore; short-block anyways.

If you like flowmasters on the 3rd gens then you will love them on your Monte.

2.5" is fine for right now as the 350 is only putting out about 150-160hp.