Need some advice about buying an old car - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
The MC Lounge General Discussions. Disrespectful behavior will not be tolerated.
POLITICAL AND/OR RELIGIOUS CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 01-19-2008, 08:34 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member

Question Need some advice about buying an old car

I work full time and I'm a full time student, I need a daily driver, here's why:

I recently moved to a town that is 2 hours away from anything remotely metropolitan and it's on the border. The roads here are crap, there are drivers from two countries battling for a spot in traffic and stupidity on the highway is a communicable disease. I've had too many locals tell me to keep an extra eye on my Honda because of the theft. My car can't handle the roads here and since it was built for spirited mountain driving and the closest mountain in America is in El Paso, 11 hours away.

Camaros are a dime a dozen here. Most of them look like crap because I don't think people really care about their cars. You should see some of the poor old beasts limping down the street, looking as if they had been attacked by the accessories section of Pep Boys. I know I can pick one up dirt cheap. I just would like to know what you all would recommend.

I've never owned a used GM. I like my GMs new. So I'm totally lost as to what is worth it to get. I do not want too spend much and frankly, I'm tired of old Hondas. I've had 2. I'd like to have a car that doesn't cost much and has enough manuals and spare parts out there that I can fix this thing in my driveway on my own. Plus, I'd finally like to be able to buy parts from J.C. Whitney. Nothing fancy, just an old car that I can enjoy and maybe bring back to life on my long weekends.

I've loved Camaro's since I was in a booster seat so I'm determined to break my used import habit and get a Chevy for once. Unless you guys say forget it .

Still a wannabe.