03 Duramax - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
The MC Lounge General Discussions. Disrespectful behavior will not be tolerated.
POLITICAL AND/OR RELIGIOUS CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 05-27-2013, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
03 Duramax

Had a edge tuner in the truck, then had to disconnect for service at dealership, but it back in and truck runs like crap with tuner on, getting a fuel pressure regualtor code, only when tuner is in, when not in truck runs mint, any ideas or help would be appreciated thanks

2012 1SS/RS IBM M6 Halltech YellowJacket CAI, Kooks 1/7/8 LT's Corsa Sport CatBack SLP 160 Stat
426/424 rwhp/rwtq Kaltech Tune SOLD!!!!

April 2013 COTM Winner
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #2 of 15 Old 05-27-2013, 01:55 PM
Veteran Member
 
Bucky6702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 1,343
 
I bought a 2005 Duramax LT, Crewcab 4X4, brand new and believe it or not, that was the worst truck I have ever owned. It spent more time in the shop in the 9 months that I owned it then it did out of the shop....

I had similar problems with mine and it had a Bully Dog Power Programmer installed, along with a full exhaust and intake system. After Chevrolet replaced the turbo system, I sold that truck as quick as I could.

To this day, you couldn't convince me to own a Duramax. They are prone to have injector problems. If you google that, you'll be shocked. Good luck though Midnight.
Bucky6702 is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 05-27-2013, 02:10 PM
Veteran Member
 
Bucky6702's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Alabama
Posts: 1,343
 
2003 GMC Sierra 2500 HD Reliability - MSN Autos

Midnight, check out that link.... I'm not sure how long you've had your Duramax, or the history behind it, but I'd be ready for issues.
Bucky6702 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 05-27-2013, 02:42 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bucky6702 View Post
I bought a 2005 Duramax LT, Crewcab 4X4, brand new and believe it or not, that was the worst truck I have ever owned. It spent more time in the shop in the 9 months that I owned it then it did out of the shop....

I had similar problems with mine and it had a Bully Dog Power Programmer installed, along with a full exhaust and intake system. After Chevrolet replaced the turbo system, I sold that truck as quick as I could.

To this day, you couldn't convince me to own a Duramax. They are prone to have injector problems. If you google that, you'll be shocked. Good luck though Midnight.
it has brand new injectors just installed from the dealer

2012 1SS/RS IBM M6 Halltech YellowJacket CAI, Kooks 1/7/8 LT's Corsa Sport CatBack SLP 160 Stat
426/424 rwhp/rwtq Kaltech Tune SOLD!!!!

April 2013 COTM Winner
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 05-27-2013, 04:49 PM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Sounds like it's time to contact the tuner and see if it needs an update or ?? to work with new components that have been installed in the truck?

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 05-28-2013, 02:33 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypurone View Post
Sounds like it's time to contact the tuner and see if it needs an update or ?? to work with new components that have been installed in the truck?
idk its an Edge tuner, i guess i will call the company, they didnt update anything performance wise just changed the bad injectors and replaced them with new ones....

2012 1SS/RS IBM M6 Halltech YellowJacket CAI, Kooks 1/7/8 LT's Corsa Sport CatBack SLP 160 Stat
426/424 rwhp/rwtq Kaltech Tune SOLD!!!!

April 2013 COTM Winner
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 05-28-2013, 02:53 PM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSSS View Post
idk its an Edge tuner, i guess i will call the company, they didnt update anything performance wise just changed the bad injectors and replaced them with new ones....
I hear ya, but weirder things have happened. There may be a load issue with the new injectors, maybe the ECM was flashed for the new injectors.... I don't do diesels!!

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 05-28-2013, 03:10 PM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by hypurone View Post
I hear ya, but weirder things have happened. There may be a load issue with the new injectors, maybe the ECM was flashed for the new injectors.... I don't do diesels!!
i hear me too, just talked to them said it could be the tuner module itself

2012 1SS/RS IBM M6 Halltech YellowJacket CAI, Kooks 1/7/8 LT's Corsa Sport CatBack SLP 160 Stat
426/424 rwhp/rwtq Kaltech Tune SOLD!!!!

April 2013 COTM Winner
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 06-18-2013, 08:39 AM Thread Starter
Veteran Member
 
MidnightSSS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Long Island
Posts: 1,595
 
ok so heres the deal got a brand new unit from edge and still having problems, as soon as I put it on level 1 the truck bogs and cuts off the fuel, is it possible gm but a block on these tuners?? it def cant be the tuner now, im so confused and no one knows nothing

2012 1SS/RS IBM M6 Halltech YellowJacket CAI, Kooks 1/7/8 LT's Corsa Sport CatBack SLP 160 Stat
426/424 rwhp/rwtq Kaltech Tune SOLD!!!!

April 2013 COTM Winner
MidnightSSS is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 06-18-2013, 10:55 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightSSS View Post
ok so heres the deal got a brand new unit from edge and still having problems, as soon as I put it on level 1 the truck bogs and cuts off the fuel, is it possible gm but a block on these tuners?? it def cant be the tuner now, im so confused and no one knows nothing
Def sounds like they did something with the calibration in the truck during the last round of repairs you had done.... Might be time to try a different tuner...

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome