XP service pack 3 - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
The MC Lounge General Discussions. Disrespectful behavior will not be tolerated.
POLITICAL AND/OR RELIGIOUS CONTENT IS PROHIBITED

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 01:55 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
USA1Camaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,229
  
XP service pack 3

I did the service pack 3 update a while ago and my computer is acting so weird now. It forgot my passwords...then it remembers my passwords.

Explorer will open sometimes and firefox will work after a long wait for it to open.

Any ideas?
USA1Camaro is offline  
post #2 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 01:58 PM
Veteran Member
 
89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,135
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by USA1Camaro View Post
I did the service pack 3 update a while ago and my computer is acting so weird now. It forgot my passwords...then it remembers my passwords.

Explorer will open sometimes and firefox will work after a long wait for it to open.

Any ideas?
Wipe the hard drive and reinstall XP. With SP3 installed, you won't be able to update XP, connect to the net wirelessly, and do about any daily task without large amounts of pain. Took me 2 times of this to figure that out. When you reinstall XP, keep it at SP2 and do all the updates through IE manually.

Project: 89 RS => AX/RR
89RS is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 02:04 PM
Veteran Member
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 7,873
  
I guess I'm lucky...I've had SP3 for about a month...no problems what-so-ever.

I'd check for spy-ware, run scan-disk, CC cleaner and do a de-frag before re-installing...just to make sure it's not something else.

2010-2SS/RS/LS3/IBM/RP6: ECS-Paxton Supercharger / American Racing Headers & Exhaust / PFADT Suspension / DSS 9" 4.10 Rear / FOR SALE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taglane View Post
Powerfreak is the only one who actually understood anything.

Last edited by POWERFREAK; 10-31-2008 at 02:06 PM.
POWERFREAK is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 02:09 PM
Veteran Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Windsor
Posts: 4,533
  
My computer crashed (are you ready?) 3 times since I installed it. 2 times this week!
double you tee eff

I'm gonna hunt down Mr. and Mrs. Windows XP and kill 'em.

┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐
Taglane is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 02:20 PM
Veteran Member
 
89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,135
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by POWERFREAK View Post
I guess I'm lucky...I've had SP3 for about a month...no problems what-so-ever.

I'd check for spy-ware, run scan-disk, CC cleaner and do a de-frag before re-installing...just to make sure it's not something else.
It wouldn't be anything else. Those problems he's describing are actually documented by Microsoft. The day SP3 went live, 593000 error reports were filed by IT departments worldwide about SP3 corrupting systems. Almost 2.5 million error reports and bug reports were filed within the first few hours of SP3 going live by home computer users as well.

I'd have a hard time buying the virus killed my PC statement after finding out someone had put SP3 on their PC.

Project: 89 RS => AX/RR
89RS is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 02:51 PM
ModernCamaro.com Founder / Former Camaro Disciple
 
OctaneZ28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Chicagoland, IL
Posts: 11,842
           
Weird, I've installed XP SP3 on 50+ computers at work and haven't had a problem with any of them.

2001 Camaro Z28 H/C/I LH6 A4 3.42

Like ModernCamaro.com on Facebook!
OctaneZ28 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 03:22 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
USA1Camaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,229
  
I restarted my computer again. It's a little better.

I'll have to remember to avoid windows updates unless absolutely necessary.
USA1Camaro is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 08:07 PM
Veteran Member
 
89RS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,135
 
Octane:

That would be about the only consistent install of SP3 I've heard of and seen right there.

USA1Camaro:

Go to the Windows Security Center in the Control Panel and set your updates to notify. That way, you know what updates are avaliable when so that you can download all the updates except for SP3.

Project: 89 RS => AX/RR
89RS is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 10-31-2008, 08:53 PM Thread Starter
Moderator
 
USA1Camaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 5,229
  
Once windows or Firefox slowly loads it seems to be ok. Then it's like normal after that. As I mentioned before, I restarted the computer a second time and it helped a lot.
USA1Camaro is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 11-01-2008, 03:09 AM
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 313
 
umm.. buy an Apple Mac \

sorry I shouldnt start an Apple versus PC debate.. Macs aren't perfect either
GoTeamCamaro is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome