First Autocross in the Camaro! - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
Road Racing & Autocross Throw your 5th Gen through the twisties! Post mods, times and results here!

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 03-28-2012, 11:23 AM Thread Starter
See You On Course

First Autocross in the Camaro!

I've been autocrossing for several years now, and this is my 5th different car to compete in. I've always competed in "stock" cars, meaning very little modifications, if any, and always on street tires. My budget is limited (thanks, kids!).

Anyway, last weekend was the first event of the region for 2012, and since I bought my 2010 M6-SS last month, I've been chomping at the bit to see what she would do. I was pleasantly surprised! I was expecting a lot more understeer (front wheels pushing out) and oversteer (back wheels spinning/sliding on acceleration) causing me to spin out, but it performed very well.

I took 10th place in overall raw times out of 54 cars, even beating out a couple of Corvettes. After the PAX (handicapping system) was applied, I was 6th.

My only complaint right now is that the leather seats provided ample butt-sliding, so I have bruises on the outsides of my knees from trying to stay in the seat.

Looking forward to a great season, definitely going to Divisional Championships and maybe even the National Championships in Lincoln, NE. I'll keep you all posted on how we do, me and my yet to be nick-named Camaro!

Peace!

2010 Stock IBM 2SS/RS

I found $80 in my jeans pocket. The kid in me said "buy nerf guns and candy!" But then the adult in me said "buy vodka, nerf guns and candy!"

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 03-28-2012, 01:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CUONCRS View Post
I've been autocrossing for several years now, and this is my 5th different car to compete in.