LFX 3.6L Valvetrain noise - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
V6 Engine Discussion 3.6L LLT V6 | Exhaust | Ignition | Induction | Intakes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 21 Old 08-19-2014, 05:14 PM Thread Starter

Unhappy LFX 3.6L Valvetrain noise

Hello all ;

I am new to the MC community and unfortunately my first post is not the most positive. Kickback, grab a snack ! my apologies ahead of time for the long read.

I purchased my "New to me" 2012 3.6L Camaro (Black) with only 21,000KMs on the clock. I loved the car from the get go, even despite my HORRIBLE experience with the dealership that I purchased it from (That's another story).

After approximately 5,000kms of driving, I started to notice what sounded like a soft lifter, or a lifter unable to pump up properly, now some would say the LFX does not have lifters, but it certainly does, just not the ones us SBC guys are used to seeing. This sound comes from the drivers cylinder head and can be heard easiest when in a drive-through, or when I open my door at idle.

I owned a Solstice and certainly am familiar with what a properly operating DI setup sounds like in all its glory, the hard part is trying to get a technician to not automatically puke out the automated response " Oh that's just the normal noises the High Pressure Fuel Pump Makes, or the Injectors are injecting at 1,00000,00000000,0000 PSI....... " Rubbish.

So two months ago I made an appointment to have it checked out, I left it with them over night, and low and behold I get the call the next day that "Everything is normal, we were not able to reproduce the sound you describe".

With that said, I continued to drive the car knowing very well whatever issues I was having would rear its ugly head eventually and surely it did.