Friggin Check Engine Light is on...... - Page 2 - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
V8 Engine Discussion 6.2L LS3/L99 V8 | Exhaust | Ignition | Induction | Intakes

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 12:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Sarge12R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 232
 
I turned my car in this morning. They just called and stated that they performed like five different tests, all passed. They are pinning the check engine light on my gas cap! They stated it would cycle off eventually. That's some bullcrap! Hell, at least I got it documented. I hate driving around with that light on!

Last edited by Sarge12R; 08-17-2009 at 12:55 PM.
Sarge12R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 01:57 PM
Veteran Member
 
bamaproshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Wetumpka, Alabama
Posts: 8,645
  
Garage
Well if you drive 40 mph the needle will cover up the light Sorry they didnt find anything....

2014 2LT/RS with spring edition package. Proud Litho Owner #28.
bamaproshop is offline  
post #13 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 02:10 PM
Veteran Member
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 7,873
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarge12R View Post
I turned my car in this morning. They just called and stated that they performed like five different tests, all passed. They are pinning the check engine light on my gas cap! They stated it would cycle off eventually. That's some bullcrap! Hell, at least I got it documented. I hate driving around with that light on!


if you disconnect the battery for 30 mins or so, it'll reset.

2010-2SS/RS/LS3/IBM/RP6: ECS-Paxton Supercharger / American Racing Headers & Exhaust / PFADT Suspension / DSS 9" 4.10 Rear / FOR SALE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taglane View Post
Powerfreak is the only one who actually understood anything.
POWERFREAK is offline  
 
post #14 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 02:31 PM
Junior Member
 
ls3ssdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Augusta. Ga
Posts: 43
 
But if you disconnect the battery, you will have to reset the window auto indexing feature.
ls3ssdav is offline  
post #15 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 02:39 PM
Veteran Member
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 7,873
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls3ssdav View Post
But if you disconnect the battery, you will have to reset the window auto indexing feature.

really? and how do you do that?

you could also stop in to an autozone and have them read the code and reset it for you.

2010-2SS/RS/LS3/IBM/RP6: ECS-Paxton Supercharger / American Racing Headers & Exhaust / PFADT Suspension / DSS 9" 4.10 Rear / FOR SALE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taglane View Post
Powerfreak is the only one who actually understood anything.
POWERFREAK is offline  
post #16 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 03:05 PM
Junior Member
 
ls3ssdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Augusta. Ga
Posts: 43
 
Read it in the owners manuel pages 1-14 thru 1-16.
ls3ssdav is offline  
post #17 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 03:15 PM
Veteran Member
 
POWERFREAK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 7,873
  
Quote:
Originally Posted by ls3ssdav View Post
Read it in the owners manuel pages 1-14 thru 1-16.

OK...it's not difficult...you shouldn't not disconnect your battery to reset your CEL because of the 20 second procedure to reset your window indexing.

2010-2SS/RS/LS3/IBM/RP6: ECS-Paxton Supercharger / American Racing Headers & Exhaust / PFADT Suspension / DSS 9" 4.10 Rear / FOR SALE!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taglane View Post
Powerfreak is the only one who actually understood anything.
POWERFREAK is offline  
post #18 of 21 Old 08-17-2009, 03:20 PM
Junior Member
 
ls3ssdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Augusta. Ga
Posts: 43
 
Not saying not disconnect batt, but if you do, you'll have to reset the window index after reconnecting the batt. Just so you know.
ls3ssdav is offline  
post #19 of 21 Old 08-18-2009, 08:59 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Sarge12R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 232
 
I reset the code last night. Stayed off for now. Thanks for all the tips ya'll!
Sarge12R is offline  
post #20 of 21 Old 05-03-2016, 12:44 PM
Junior Member
 
uncle_bob62000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Burlington, Ontario Canada
Posts: 92
 
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sarge12R View Post
I reset the code last night. Stayed off for now. Thanks for all the tips ya'll!
How did you display the code and how did you reset it.
I have the engine light on and disconnected the battery overnight. Light was out but then came back on. My window indexing didn't need to be reset

I am looking through my manuals now and can't find anything about displaying the codes unless you have a proper scanner. I suspect the Camaro is different from other GM models as one site I was on showed a different pin-out on the DLC than what my 2010 Camaro has.


Uncle BoB in Oakville, Ontario
2010 Camaro 1SS 6M, Victory Red
ordered January 4th, 2010; delivered March 5th, 2010
http://unclebob.mangle.ca
uncle_bob62000 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome