2014 Auxiliary gauges installation HELP - ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts
V8 Engine Discussion 6.2L LS3/L99 V8 | Exhaust | Ignition | Induction | Intakes

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-27-2015, 08:02 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
427cubicinches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: East TN.
Posts: 71
 
2014 Auxiliary gauges installation HELP

Hey guys, trying to install Auxiliary gauges in 2014 SS.
Kit came with a 3 wire hook up for the gauges, red, black and green.
There are 2 latches that have to be released on the fuse block to pull it out to splice into battery wire on cavity 2 for the RED battery wire for the gauges.
I tried for about an hour but can't get them released.
The latches are on the bottom of the fuse block.
Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks.

427cubicinches is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-28-2015, 08:10 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
I'm confused. The GM gauges are plug-n-play at a connector near the shifter, no need to be messing with the fuse block or wiring. So this means you went another route for gauges?

Anyway, that fuse block "unsnaps" vs tabs that release. Just pull it out starting at the lower corner closest to the firewall. They are very strong snap-ins so some serious effort may be required. I have found that the top ones are the hardest actually....

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-28-2015, 08:44 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
427cubicinches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: East TN.
Posts: 71
 
I was confused as well when i picked up the GM gauges.
I read about the plug-n-play near the shifter and also saw a video on it.
The 2014-15's now seem to have a different hook up from the 2010-13's.
Instructions that came with gauges:






Thanks, Bob
427cubicinches is offline  
 
post #4 of 6 Old 02-28-2015, 09:21 AM
Veteran Member
 
hypurone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Cali. North Bay
Posts: 1,925
 
Garage
Holy [email protected]! Now I am wondering if they may have changed the way the fuse block is mounted!

Chuck
2010 SIM 2SS/RS A6 SC - Born on 10/05/09
MyCamaroBuildInfo

"You Were Really Flyin' When I Passed You Back There!"
February-2013-MOTM-Winner
hypurone is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-28-2015, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
427cubicinches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: East TN.
Posts: 71
 
I would have MUCH preferred the plug-n-play.
It looks like the fuse block needs to go rearward but i am failing to get it to go one way or the other!

Many Thanks for your input, Bob
427cubicinches is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 03-02-2015, 11:17 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
427cubicinches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: East TN.
Posts: 71
 
Having a problem releasing the fuse block out of this 2014.

Any more suggestions?
427cubicinches is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the ModernCamaro.com - 5th Generation Camaro Enthusiasts forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome