Modern Camaro Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
See You On Course
3,867 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been autocrossing for several years now, and this is my 5th different car to compete in. I've always competed in "stock" cars, meaning very little modifications, if any, and always on street tires. My budget is limited (thanks, kids!).

Anyway, last weekend was the first event of the region for 2012, and since I bought my 2010 M6-SS last month, I've been chomping at the bit to see what she would do. I was pleasantly surprised! I was expecting a lot more understeer (front wheels pushing out) and oversteer (back wheels spinning/sliding on acceleration) causing me to spin out, but it performed very well.

I took 10th place in overall raw times out of 54 cars, even beating out a couple of Corvettes. After the PAX (handicapping system) was applied, I was 6th.

My only complaint right now is that the leather seats provided ample butt-sliding, so I have bruises on the outsides of my knees from trying to stay in the seat.

Looking forward to a great season, definitely going to Divisional Championships and maybe even the National Championships in Lincoln, NE. I'll keep you all posted on how we do, me and my yet to be nick-named Camaro!

Peace!

·
Registered
92 Posts
I've been autocrossing for several years now, and this is my 5th different car to compete in.

My only complaint right now is that the leather seats provided ample butt-sliding, so I have bruises on the outsides of my knees from trying to stay in the seat.

Peace!
I suspect you haven't taken and driver instruction. I took the instruction the first time I was at Toronto Motorsports Park road course and I didn't have any problems staying put in my seat. I was also amazed at how well the Camaro stayed on the track. It felt at times like I was going to roll the front tires off the wheels but I never went off the course and the back end didn't swing out either. Great driver training to get the feel of the car.