Modern Camaro Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Premium Member
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

This forum looks pretty cool so far. I was referred via GMI news and I'm glad a 5th gen fan site was started.

Backround on me:
I'm a product designer from MA (yes, I'm a Mass-hole) and recently started a custom car design firm to pay for diapers for my 10 month old daughter and my 70 Nova Pro Touring project. I can show some Nova progess photos and renderings of what it "may" look like in 25 years when I finally have the time to finish it if anyone is interested.

I've had nothing but GM vehicles in my driveway since I got my license and I'm waiting patiently to make a 5th gen Camaro addition in a couple years.

My take on the concept car:
I like it but it will need quite a bit of surface and detail refinement before production. It looks exactly as I expected it would...I don't know if that's good or bad. It's almost like they followed a box recipe for a "Modern 69 Camaro". The profile is great, I like the taillights and love the retro interior, but I hate the grill and lower valence.

Eggcrate grills always looked "cheap" to me though I know they were trying to relate it to the 69 base model. The RS/SS grill was my favorite I guess. The chin is too blocky in my opinion and should have some softness added and weight removed. The "ram-air" slot above the grill looks like an after-thought.

Bottom line: If it stays the way it is with very slight changes (as I've heard it will), I'll still buy one if finances allow. As soon as I get it home I'll probably start sketching and modeling up a new nose. I'll take mine black with black/red interior and the DOD engine so I can commute during the week and thrash it during the weekend!

Ben:)

·
Registered
863 Posts
Ben's been kind enough to allow us to use one of his photoshops on our front page. Great work!!