Modern Camaro Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
3,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Guys, I am getting ready to get these stripes for my car. I love them, but my only concern is how they do as far as bugs and stuff hitting them on the road. I am buying the 8 year vinyl, so they should be pretty thick and durable. What do you all think?? Thumbs up or thumbs down?? :thumbsup::thumbsdown:
Cant afford the painted ones yet, so thought I would try the vinyl for a while.

Attachments

·
Registered
51 Posts
i used to work in the sign industry and i applied vinyl all the time to glass and exteriors, but never to auto, best guess is that 1. vinyl will overtime either peel around the edges after washing or due to high heat it will crack. hopefully the 8 yr is high performance vinyl and will last a while. 2. bug juice will come off if you scrub it or presoak it first, im sure there is a spray you can apply that will ease the removal of bug juice, but be gentle with your vinyl. 3. it might leave a ghost after you take it off and may take off some clear coat too depending on how good the paint job is. and 4. i would just wait and get the paint done...skip the vinly, nothing lasts these days....talk to someone in your area who's does car wraps and they can give you more info. hope that helps.

·
Bully Proof
7,086 Posts
A friend of mine owns this car and she had 10 year vinyl stripes applied and they were the most expensive grade available. Here they had only been on a few months and there were already multiple scratches in the strips on top of the front bumper cover where road debris was deflected.

[URL="
[/URL]

·
3,081 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
A friend of mine owns this car and she had 10 year vinyl stripes applied and they were the most expensive grade available. Here they had only been on a few months and there were already multiple scratches in the strips on top of the front bumper cover where road debris was deflected.

[URL="
[/URL]