Modern Camaro Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
328 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:(After 3 years as a roll cage fabricator and tuner at Flatout Motorsports
I was forced to leave today not by choice.
It was really hard because I put so much effort into this job. I feel lost
and have to find some kind of employment ASAP for my family that includes
my new Camaro SS.
The kinda good news I was already planning on my own "hobby" shop
as of July 1st. I think eventually I will be okay as my work speaks for itself.
I have been doing cages for 7 years, and tuning cars for 5 years.
Specializing in GM vehicles for tuning, but not limited to.
Wiring and custom harness is also my specialty on anything from front end loaders to VW's and everything in between.
I have attended EFI101 and Haltech Training over the years.
Jack of all trades and Master of some LOL!
Any advice on starting your own shop would be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
Sorry for that.. its hard to start something right now. Good Luck.

·
Premium Member
8,645 Posts
Sorry to hear and best of luck in your new adventure.... #1 thing is customer service which i think you will be great at. It sounds like you will be just fine cause you have skills :thumbsup:

·
Registered
1,496 Posts
Seriously look into buisness classes focusing on financial, make suer you talk to other people in your desired trade that either own or have owned buisnesses about the pit falls. I was and still am a hell of an electrician, but when I started my buisness I turned out to be a piss poor buisness man, seriously weak on the billing/receivables side. What ever you do don't just think you can leave the money aspect to some one else, it will be your worst blind side, good luck.

·
Registered
4,449 Posts
in these troubled times, starting your own business will be tough! not to mention the taxes small business owners have to pay is ridiculous!