Modern Camaro Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guy's, put your thinking caps on. I have been using Amsoil synthetic for almost 2 years now. but when i use the high mileage filter from amsoil i seem to have an oil seaping problem through the very bottom of the oil pan and a little on the lower end of the oil cooler. i have the 6.2
It has been at the dealer and had dye in the oil to try to locate a leak, but none found. If i swap out the filter and go with a standard ac delco filter and clean the oil that has appeared, it stays bone dry and do not get one ounce of seaping anywhere!
I am very confused, so i have a bunch of people trying to figure it out including amsoil. someone has mentioned that maybe the filter causes excessive crankcase pressure and therefore it seaps. just a theory.

Any ideas or has anyone else run across any simaliar problem?

·
Premium Member
2,624 Posts
Sorry to hear that... I'm getting ready to make the Switch to Amsoil so I will keep a watch out for what U find out...

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
I would just keep the amsoil and keep the gm filter.Unless there is a reason not too.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thats what im going to end up doing, but it just rattles my brain and i would like to know why this is happening. there is no logic to this problem.

·
Registered
2,495 Posts
Dose it leak with more than one filter, ie have you tried it with a couple of amsoil filters.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
no. just the high mileage one. i gonna try a different one this weekend. like a mobil one high mileage or some other brand besides ac delco or amsoil and see what that does.

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Good idea, ill look into the breather cap. Thanks for the help everyone.

·
Registered
3 Posts
More info on leaky oil filter