Modern Camaro Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Supporting Super Moderator
5,668 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
http://www.topspeed.com/cars/car-news/-speed-tickets-will-include-gas-used-to-catch-you-ar59343.html

We leave hard times we know. With today’s gas price everything it’s possible, but for the speed tickets to include the price of the gas needed to catch you, well, that’s just too much!

In Atlanta, starting July, all speeders will be slapped with an additional $12 fuel charge. The added charge will raise ticket revenues up to $26,000 or more, and the costs will only be passed on to those who break traffic laws and not every citizen.

·
Registered
318 Posts
hhahaha..even as a cop I know thats ridiculous, but I have to admit...kinda funny, hell whats 12 bucks when speeding tickets are about $300 nowadays.

That wont fly in a very liberal central Florida...in fact my city council has recently decided to have money taken out of my pay check to pay for gas...could be worse I guess..

·
Registered
3,055 Posts
If taxpayers are paying for the gas anyway, then it'd be hardpressed to say it makes sense to double charge for the gas, regardless. It's just a pad, which IMO, is stupid, ludicrous, and possibly even illegal.

·
Registered
102 Posts
I live in Citrus Co. Fla and I heard that Marion Co. Fla is charging non residents the cost of working an accident if it is their fault since they don't live & pay taxes in that area.

On a side note Citrus will require a driving class to get a motorcycle license but the class cost is $300.00 and you "have" to take it. I guess they want a piece of the increase in motorcycle sales since the cost of gas has gone up.

·
See You On Course
3,867 Posts